Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the exact US style support a men's-block shell-only rain arrangement?
Yes. The exact product page identifies the Men's DRYVENT Field Jacket as a seam-sealed two-layer shell, and the matching Academy listing for style NF0A8H0R says insulation is not included. The shell-only arrangement means the wearer chooses any separate warmth layers; it does not make a temperature or warmth claim.
Explore this need in the finder →Can NF0A8H0R be filtered as a three-layer shell with pit zips?
No. The manufacturer labels the shell DRYVENT 2L, not three-layer. Pit zips are not listed in the exact product features, so that requirement remains unconfirmed rather than being inferred from the brand or another jacket.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the fabric description establish recycled nylon ripstop or the qualified PFAS answer?
No. The body is a 59% organic-cotton / 41% recycled-nylon blend and the page does not name a ripstop weave. Its fluorine-free DWR wording does not state that specified components are made without intentionally added PFAS.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the jacket pack into one of its listed pockets?
The exact feature list names drop-in front pockets and secure-zip hand pockets but does not call any pocket a self-stow route or give a packed size. The self-stowing filter therefore does not match this reviewed evidence.
Explore this need in the finder →The North Face Men's DRYVENT™ Field Jacket (NF0A8H0R) is a relaxed-fit, two-layer rain jacket whose material specification stands out from the brand's more conventional polyester shells: the maker lists a 59% organic-cotton and 41% recycled-nylon body, with a separate recycled-polyester lining. The exact US product page describes a seam-sealed, waterproof, breathable DRYVENT 2L shell. A US retailer's specification for the same style says insulation is not included. This is a source-based assessment, not a report of wearing, measuring or weather-testing the jacket.
Read the package as a shell, not a bundled warmth system
The product page presents NF0A8H0R as a jacket built around its waterproof shell. It lists a 66 g/m² lining, but a lining is not automatically an insulating layer. The exact-style Academy listing separately records “Insulation: No,” and the reviewed maker page does not include a second garment or insulating insert in the package description. The supported rain plan is therefore shell-only: you choose the clothing underneath. That distinction says nothing about a temperature range, warmth in use or the comfort of any particular layering combination; none is documented here.
This separates it from an assembled 3-in-1 jacket. If you need insulation included in the same purchase, verify the exact style and package rather than treating the liner specification as proof of built-in warmth. Conversely, a shell-only setup leaves the wearer free to select their own layers, but the appropriate combination depends on conditions and personal needs that the product page does not quantify.
A two-layer blend with a specific material tradeoff
The North Face labels the construction DRYVENT 2L and calls it seam-sealed, waterproof and breathable. Its US materials line specifies 176 g/m² body fabric made from 59% organic cotton and 41% recycled nylon, finished with fluorine-free DWR. The lining is separately listed as 66 g/m², 100% recycled polyester. The page does not call the body ripstop and does not describe it as 100% recycled nylon. So although recycled nylon is part of the blend, this is not a documented recycled-nylon-ripstop match for a shopper who treats both the fiber and weave as requirements.
The maker's construction and protection terms are useful for identifying the product, but they are not comparative performance scores. The reviewed page supplies no hydrostatic-head or moisture-vapor figure, and this assessment has no independent rain test. A two-layer label does not fill in those missing numbers. Anyone who needs a numerical membrane threshold should look for exact documentation rather than assume a value from the DRYVENT name.
Practical details without a documented vent or stow claim
The feature list includes an adjustable three-piece hood with a rear cinch cord and locks, a full-length center zip covered by a snap placket, a zipper garage, welt drop-in front pockets, secure-zip hand pockets, encased-elastic cuffs and an internal two-point hem cinch. These details describe closure, adjustment and storage options. They do not establish how the jacket performs in wind or heavy rain, nor do the hand pockets become a packing pouch simply because they close with zippers.
Pit zips and a self-stowing pocket are not named in the reviewed feature list. The corresponding facts are left unconfirmed, so this jacket should not be selected when either is an essential filter in the present evidence. That is deliberately narrower than saying the jacket has no such feature: the page may be incomplete, but no affirmative claim can be made from the sources reviewed. The manufacturer also lists a 28-inch center back, which is a garment dimension rather than a guarantee of coverage on a particular body.
Relaxed fit still needs an individual layer check
The exact US page uses the label Relaxed fit and lists a men's size range. That is a useful pattern descriptor, not a promise about shoulder room, sleeve length or the way a hem falls. Compare your measurements with the current men's size chart and, if possible, try the jacket over the layers you expect to wear. A relaxed label alone cannot confirm that a preferred fleece or midlayer will fit comfortably, and the 28-inch center-back measurement cannot predict the coverage you will get.
Fluorine-free wording is not the site's qualified PFAS answer
The maker's material line says fluorine-free DWR. The finder uses a more specific option for a maker statement that components are made without intentionally added PFAS. The reviewed page does not use that exact statement or identify its scope in those terms, so NF0A8H0R remains unknown for that filter. This is neither a claim that PFAS are present nor an assurance that they are absent. Check current exact-style wording if that question is central to your purchase.
Who should keep this field jacket on a shortlist?
It may suit someone looking for a men's-block, relaxed-fit, shell-only rain jacket and who values the maker's cotton/recycled-nylon blend description. Do not choose it on the assumption that it is three-layer, has a recycled-nylon-ripstop face, includes insulation, vents through pit zips, packs into a pocket or meets the site's qualified PFAS statement. Its reviewed specification also omits total garment weight, care directions, a temperature range and numeric membrane results.
Compared with The North Face Men's DRYVENT Zip-In Jacket NF0A8J5G, the Field Jacket also has a 2L shell-only arrangement but a different body blend and a Relaxed rather than Regular fit label. The Zip-In page expressly lists pit-zip venting and Triclimate attachment points; those are not established for the Field Jacket. Read the exact style number on any offer, confirm the size/color and package, and check the seller's conditions before treating a similar model name as the same jacket. The pictured Summit Navy image is an official Europe-region asset for the exact style/color, not evidence of a current US offer.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Shell construction | 2-layer laminate |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer fit label | Relaxed fit |
| Face fabric | 59% organic cotton / 41% recycled nylon blend; weave not specified |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Men's Waterproof Rainwear — The North Face US alternate indexed category capture
- Men's DRYVENT™ Field Jacket NF0A8H0R, Summit Navy (8K2) — The North Face US
- The North Face Men's DRYVENT Field Jacket, exact style NF0A8H0R-RL2 — Academy Sports + Outdoors
- Men's DryVent™ Field Jacket NF0A8H0R, Summit Navy (8K2) — The North Face UK
- Men's DRYVENT™ Field Jacket NF0A8H0R, Summit Navy (8K2), official image asset — The North Face Europe
Build a shortlist from documented features
The finder compares explicit product facts, not a rain test, fit guarantee or promise of comfort.
