Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What does the men's fit block establish for product 242158?
The exact product page names the Men's XeroCloud 3L and provides men's regular and Tall size options. That identifies the size block and length selection, not a personal fit result; compare the current chart with intended layers.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the men's XeroCloud include both pit zips and pocket stow?
Yes. REI lists underarm pit zips and says the jacket packs into its own left-hand pocket. Neither statement gives a measured ventilation result or packed volume.
Explore this need in the finder →Is it a three-layer shell for use over your own clothing?
REI calls product 242158 a three-layer HydroWall shell; its page lists no separate insulating garment. The warmth plan is therefore a shell over wearer-selected layers, not a claim of a temperature rating.
Explore this need in the finder →The Men's XeroCloud 3L is REI Co-op's technical shell option in a men's size block. The exact US product page identifies product 242158 and describes a three-layer HydroWall waterproof/breathable laminate with fully seam-sealed construction. It is a shell to pair with clothing chosen for the conditions; the feature list does not identify a separate insulating garment. Nothing in the page supplies a temperature range or proves how the jacket will feel in a particular storm.
Three layers, but no numeric membrane result
REI specifies a 72% recycled nylon/28% recycled polyester fabric with a jersey backer and calls the shell stretchy, windproof, waterproof and highly breathable. The construction is described as three-layer, and the page says the seams are fully sealed. These details help distinguish the product from a simpler unlined rain layer. They are manufacturer claims rather than comparative test scores: the listing gives no numerical waterproof-pressure result, breathability rating or durability data. The exact page also does not say that the face fabric is ripstop. A shopper who needs that specific weave should not infer it from the nylon content.
The shell-only arrangement makes layering the wearer's job. The jersey backing is part of the shell, not a removable liner. For cold wet use, choose warmth separately and assess the men's chart with the layers you expect to wear. The product page offers regular and Tall sizes, which is a meaningful distinction for length selection, but neither a size label nor a pictured model guarantees sleeve reach or room on an individual.
Venting and carry details are directly documented
Underarm pit zips are listed, a useful feature for opening the shell when extra venting is desired. REI does not state the zipper length or measure the airflow they provide. The zip is an adjustable opening, not evidence that this model will prevent overheating in every pace, humidity or pack setup.
The pockets are described as one zippered chest pocket and zippered hand pockets. REI explicitly says the jacket packs into its own left-hand pocket. That confirms a stow route, but the page does not give a packed volume or dimensions. If pocket access, storage under a hip belt or a very small pack space matters, inspect the exact jacket and your loadout rather than converting “packable” into a specific fit claim.
The hood has a back adjustment and laminated visor. The feature list also mentions articulated elbows, raglan sleeves, stretch fabric, hook-and-loop adjustable cuffs and a drawcord hem. These are concrete construction and adjustment details; the page does not establish helmet compatibility or a fit result with an actual backpack. REI lists the weight as 13.4 ounces and the back length as 31 inches for regular sizes and 33 inches for Tall. Those are REI-supplied values, not measurements taken for this review. Compare the exact chart and length option against a familiar shell.
What the DWR and material language means
The maker says the DWR finish is made without PFAS. That is a statement about the finish, not proof about every part of the jacket or a guarantee of zero detectable residue. The outer fabric specification names a recycled nylon/polyester blend but does not state ripstop construction. These distinctions matter when a material or chemistry choice is a hard requirement: a match should follow the exact wording, not a broad reading of the product name.
REI's listed care is machine washing warm, avoiding bleach and fabric softener, and tumble drying low. It also advises cleaning and drying rainwear and renewing DWR when necessary. Care affects how a finish is maintained, but the page does not quantify service life or guarantee a future waterproof result.
Where this version fits in a comparison
Consider this men's XeroCloud if your research points to a non-insulated three-layer shell and you want both pit zips and a documented self-stow pocket. Its regular and Tall options add a length choice. Those are stronger reasons to compare it than vague claims of being “technical” or “breathable.” The tradeoffs are equally concrete: no built-in warmth is listed, no numerical membrane test is supplied, the face weave is unspecified and the no-PFAS statement is scoped to the DWR finish.
The women's XeroCloud is a separately named fit-block product with its own product number and listed dimensions; it is not just another color of this item. The Women's XeroCloud 3L Long is another distinct configuration, marked discontinued on its REI page and with a longer body and a two-way front zipper. Check the exact product title and number on any offer, then verify the men's chart, size, regular or Tall length, color and condition. This assessment is based on REI's documentation; no rain, movement, sizing or durability test was performed.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Shell construction | 3-layer shell |
|---|---|
| Face fabric | 72% recycled nylon / 28% recycled polyester · jersey backer |
| Underarm venting | Underarm pit zips; opening extent and measured airflow are not specified. |
| Stows in its own pocket | Yes |
| Manufacturer PFAS wording | Made without intentionally added PFAS |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist from documented features
The finder compares explicit product facts, not a rain test, fit guarantee or promise of comfort.
