Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What does the women's label establish for Flash Stretch item 227563?
REI identifies a women's fit block, lists XS–3X and calls the fit roomy. These are product-page descriptors, not a personal fit guarantee or proof of room for specific layers.
Explore this need in the finder →Does Flash Stretch meet both a three-layer and own-pocket-stow requirement?
No. The exact page says 2.5-layer HydroWall and does not name a pocket that stows the whole jacket. The stow capability is unconfirmed, not inferred from stretch or packability.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the discontinued Flash Stretch page support shell-only pit-zip use?
Yes. It describes a waterproof/breathable 2.5-layer shell, lists pit zips and shows no separate insulating garment. This is a shell plan, not a temperature estimate.
Explore this need in the finder →What is the scope of the Flash Stretch PFAS statement?
REI says the DWR finish is made without PFAS. The statement is finish-specific and does not establish that every component is PFAS-free.
Explore this need in the finder →The REI Co-op Flash Stretch Rain Jacket - Women's is item 227563, a distinct women's-block shell that REI's exact US page marks discontinued. That lifecycle detail is important: the article preserves a researched earlier model, not a claim that it is presently offered. Its page documents a 2.5-layer HydroWall shell, stretch polyester construction and underarm pit zips. I have not worn or tested it, and this assessment does not treat the manufacturer's waterproof/breathable language as a measured performance result.
2.5-layer HydroWall in a stretch-polyester build
REI describes a waterproof, windproof and breathable 2.5-layer HydroWall laminate with seams fully sealed. Its technical specifications identify polyester dobby for the upper body and a lower-body fabric of 88% polyester and 12% spandex. That combination is not a recycled-nylon-ripstop face. The page supplies no numeric waterproof-pressure or breathability rating, so the construction label is useful for classifying the garment but cannot answer how it performs in a particular storm, pace or temperature.
The exact listing does not identify a separate insulating jacket or fill. The supported arrangement is therefore a shell over clothing selected by the wearer. That lets the wearer choose the warmth layer independently, but makes the intended layer stack and size-chart check important. The page gives no temperature range or insulated-weather plan, and the word “stretch” should not be converted into a claim about quantified mobility or fit.
Ventilation and movement features
Underarm pit zips are listed, which makes them a confirmed feature for a shopper who requires that hardware. The source gives no opening length or airflow measurement. REI also lists articulated elbows, a fully adjustable hood with a standing collar, a chin guard and inner collar lined in brushed polyester tricot. Slightly longer sleeves are described as intended to extend over the hands; hook-and-loop cuffs provide adjustment. These details describe the design, not a guaranteed fit for an individual body or a measured improvement in comfort.
The page lists a zippered chest pocket hidden under a storm flap, zippered hand pockets and a drawcord hem. It does not say that any pocket can contain the whole jacket. I leave pocket stow and packed dimensions unconfirmed. A hanger loop is listed, but a loop for hanging is not a pocket-stow route and should not be confused with one.
Finish wording is specific to the DWR
REI says the DWR finish is made without PFAS. This exact finish statement qualifies the questionnaire's maker-wording choice in the site's conservative matching record. It does not establish that every component in the garment is PFAS-free or provide a residual-chemistry measurement. The page recommends machine washing cold, avoiding bleach and tumble drying low. Its general rainwear advice discusses cleaning and drying and renewing DWR if wetting out continues; that is care advice, not a promise that the original finish lasts indefinitely or an included coating.
Women's size block, listed length and weight
REI identifies the women's fit block and lists sizes from XS through 3X. The description calls the fit roomy, but that label does not predict how a specific size will fit a person or accommodate a particular base layer. The product page lists 14.5 ounces and a 27.25-inch back length. These are manufacturer specifications, not measurements for this review; the page does not state that every size has the same weight or how length changes across the range. Use the current size chart and compare the garment with the layers and coverage you actually want.
Compare exact editions, not just the Rainwear category
REI lists the current-category Women's Rainier 227614 separately. That model's page identifies a 2.5-layer HydroWall shell and recycled ripstop nylon, and lists both pit zips and a named left-hand-pocket stow route. Flash Stretch shares a 2.5-layer description and pit zips, but its material line is polyester and it has no documented stow pocket. This distinction matters if material or packing is a hard filter. The Rainier facts should not be attributed to Flash simply because both are REI Co-op shells; read the Women's Rainier 227614 review for its separate item-level evidence.
What the discontinued label changes
The source marks Flash Stretch discontinued. That is why this model appears only when earlier styles are included in the finder; the listing does not prove current stock, a resale offer or any present seller's condition. For a secondhand or archived item, confirm the item number on the garment, condition of seam seals and closures, DWR maintenance history, size label and return terms. The article makes no statement about current price or availability. If those factors matter, the original page and any actual offer should be checked at the time of purchase.
Who may want to compare it
This edition is most relevant to someone researching an earlier women's-block shell with a documented 2.5-layer stretch-polyester construction, pit zips and no listed insulating component. It does not meet a three-layer or recycled-nylon-ripstop requirement, and its own-pocket stow route is unconfirmed. Its discontinued status is a real buying limitation, not a reason to invent current availability. The exact item 227563, actual label, size, condition and any offer terms should all be verified before a decision. This is a source-based assessment, not a report of personal ownership, use or customer experience.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Shell construction | 2.5-layer shell |
|---|---|
| Face fabric | Polyester dobby and polyester spandex |
| Underarm venting | REI lists underarm pit zips; opening extent and measured airflow are not specified. |
| Manufacturer PFAS wording | Made without intentionally added PFAS |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Build a shortlist from documented features
The finder compares explicit product facts, not a rain test, fit guarantee or promise of comfort.
