Model assessment · Outdoor Research

Outdoor Research Women's Aspire 3L Rain Jacket - Plus review

Women's Plus-size-range 1X–4X, Standard Fit three-layer shell with 40D recycled-nylon mechanical stretch and long TorsoFlo side venting.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Person wearing the Outdoor Research Women's Aspire 3L Plus shell in Galactic, front view
Official product image · product 322108 · Galactic Outdoor Research
A useful fit for

A research-supported candidate for a shopper using Outdoor Research's women's fit block who wants a Plus-range 1X–4X, three-layer shell with 40D recycled-nylon mechanical stretch and a long side-zip vent reaching the pit area. The Standard Fit label, body chart and maker-listed dimensions are not a personal fit prediction.

The main tradeoff

The exact US page lists 455 g and 77.5 cm center back but does not tie weight to a selected size; these are not independently measured. The page does not document pocket stow or recycled-nylon ripstop, and it says the item contains PFAS. TorsoFlo is a long hem-to-bicep side opening rather than a short pit-only zip, and no numerical membrane test result is supplied.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

How is Aspire 3L Plus 322108 different from the standard Aspire 322107?

The exact Plus page lists sizes 1X–4X, calls the garment Standard Fit, and specifies 455 g and 77.5 cm center back. It is a distinct product number from standard Aspire 322107 and Trench 322110. The two listed measurements are maker specifications, not individual fit or directly comparable size-specific weights.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does Aspire 3L Plus document underarm ventilation?

Yes, the product page describes TorsoFlo two-way side zippers extending from the hem toward the bicep/pit area. This is a long side opening that reaches the underarm area, not a short conventional pit-only zipper or a measured cooling result.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is its face confirmed as recycled-nylon ripstop, and does the page confirm jacket pocket stow?

No. The page specifies 40D recycled nylon with mechanical stretch but does not call the face ripstop, and it does not identify a pocket as a stuff sack for the whole jacket. Those requirements remain unconfirmed for product 322108.

Explore this need in the finder →

Outdoor Research lists the Women's Aspire 3L Rain Jacket - Plus as product 322108, a distinct item from standard Aspire 322107 and Aspire 3L Trench 322110. The product page describes it as a three-layer shell in the women's 1X–4X size range. Its value is not a new insulation system: it is a plus-range version of a shell with the long TorsoFlo side opening. The separate product number matters because size range, listed weight, back length and availability of colors or sizes belong to the exact page, not to the Aspire family in general.

Three-layer construction without a warmth liner

The maker identifies the face-and-membrane fabric as AscentShell Dry 3L, made with 100% recycled nylon, a 40-denier fabric and mechanical stretch. It describes the garment as waterproof, windproof and breathable and lists fully taped seams. Those are manufacturer statements; the checked page does not give a numerical waterproof-pressure test or breathability result, and this assessment does not add an independent rain test. The page does not call the nylon face ripstop, so a request for confirmed recycled-nylon ripstop remains unverified rather than being inferred from another Aspire style.

Outdoor Research also describes a factory-applied Nikwax Direct.Dry DWR. The exact US page states that this item contains PFAS and displays a notice about shipping to certain states. That statement does not identify which component contains PFAS, and it is not the same as the separate product-page wording “without intentionally added PFAS.” If a chemical statement is an essential buying condition, do not substitute the Aspire’s recycled content or the presence of a DWR for that wording.

This is a shell-only arrangement: the page lists no included insulating layer. The wearer chooses the layers underneath, so warmth depends on that separate clothing system and conditions rather than being a feature of this jacket. The 3L construction answers a construction question, not a temperature rating.

TorsoFlo is a long side opening

The feature that most distinguishes the Aspire from a conventional rain shell is TorsoFlo. Outdoor Research describes two-way zippers extending from the hem to the bicep and says the opening can reach from pit to hem. It can be opened along much of the side, rather than being just a short underarm zip. Our finder includes this documented pit-area opening when someone selects underarm venting, while the review keeps its length and side-entry function explicit. That classification is not a measured claim about how quickly the jacket cools a particular wearer.

The product page also lists an adjustable hood with a bonded brim, a front storm flap, zippered chest and hand pockets, adjustable cuffs and a drawcord hem. It does not say that any pocket stuffs the whole jacket. A jacket pocket and a self-stow sack are not interchangeable claims, so the assessment leaves pocket stow unconfirmed. The page names access to base layers and waist belts as a use of the long side opening; check your own pack belt and preferred layering before relying on that arrangement.

Plus sizing is not a personal fit guarantee

The US product page offers sizes 1X through 4X, calls the garment Standard Fit and provides a chart based on body measurements. Those labels describe the manufacturer's size block and intended cut. They do not establish how a particular person, clothing layer or chosen size will fit. The listed center-back length is 77.5 cm (30.5 inches), and the listed weight is 455 g (16.05 ounces). They are catalog specifications; the page does not state which selected size determines the weight, and neither value is an independent measurement of a jacket in hand.

The standard Women's Aspire 322107 shares the three-layer 40D recycled-nylon stretch fabric and TorsoFlo design, but it is a separate product listing with a different size offering and its own listed weight and length. The Plus page's 77.5 cm and 455 g should not be used as garment dimensions or weight for every Aspire. The longer Aspire Trench is another distinct pattern and is not covered by this assessment. Use the exact product number and the current body-measurement chart rather than transferring a size recommendation from a sibling listing.

Who should keep it on the shortlist?

This is a documented candidate for a shopper whose required combination is a women's fit block, a shell-only rain arrangement, three-layer construction and a vent opening that reaches the pit area. It does not pass every feature request: no pocket-stow method or recycled-nylon-ripstop face is documented, and the maker's page says the item contains PFAS. Those distinctions can matter more than the Aspire name or a fabric marketing phrase. The match is only an overlap of documented features; it is not a prediction of comfort, storm protection, breathability or body-specific fit.

Before choosing an offer, confirm Women's Aspire 3L Rain Jacket - Plus, product 322108, rather than standard 322107 or Trench 322110. Compare your measurements with the current 1X–4X chart, consider the shell over the layers you intend to wear, and check the selected size, color, exact seller and return terms. Confirm current package details and applicable shipping restrictions from the seller. Neither this review nor a maker specification promises a price, stock status or performance result.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Shell construction3-layer shell
Manufacturer-listed weight455 g
Manufacturer fit labelStandard fit
Gender-inclusive sizingNo
Face fabric40D recycled nylon with mechanical stretch · weave not stated
Underarm ventingTorsoFlo two-way side zippers from the hem toward the bicep/pit area; the manufacturer describes this as hem-to-bicep venting
Manufacturer PFAS wordingManufacturer says the item contains PFAS

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Build a shortlist from documented features

The finder compares explicit product facts, not a rain test, fit guarantee or promise of comfort.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →